Who We Are

Welcome to the Farmington Valley Health District (FVHD) site!  We strive to Promote health programs and policies that support good health; Prevent disease outbreaks and conditions that give rise to poor health; and Protect you from health threats-the everyday and the exceptional. Whether you are searching for information on how to protect yourself from the flu, proper septic system maintenance or the latest health alerts on food recalls, the FVHD is here for you. We hope you find the site easy to navigate and encourage questions, comments and suggestions to be submitted on our Contact Page.

FVHD serves the towns of Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, East Granby, Farmington, Granby, Hartland, New Hartford and Simsbury. From restaurant inspections, septic system approvals, disease outbreak investigations to health education, we work hard to create a healthy and safe community for the approximate 110,000 residents of the Farmington Valley.

Our community partnerships are key to the success of your health district. By working with residents, town officials, the Connecticut Department of Public Health, schools, and local agencies and organizations, FVHD is able to meet the needs of the community. 

Our Staff

The Farmington Valley Health District has a professional and experienced staff dedicated to promoting optimal health and securing a healthy environment.

You can reach our staff at (860) 352 – 2333

Jennifer C. Kertanis, MPH
Director of Health

jkertanis@fvhd.org

x 303

Dianne Harding, R.S.
Chief Sanitarian

dharding@fvhd.org

x 309

Patricia Gigliotti, R.S.
Environmental Health Coordinator

pgigliotti@fvhd.org

x 325

Kristin Kula, R.S
Registered Sanitarian

kkula@fvhd.org

x 308

Justine Ginsberg, BSN, RN
Community Health Coordinator

jginsberg@fvhd.org

x 312

Melissa Marquis, RN, MS
Public Health Emergency Preparedness Specialist

mmarquis@fvhd.org

x 302

Jason Brown, R.S
Food Program Coordinator

jbrown@fvhd.org

x 304

Leesa Philippon
RGH Community Outreach Coordinator

lphilippon@fvhd.org

x 324

Miranda Arnold, BS
Environmental Health inspector

marnold@fvhd.org

x 306

Deidra James, BS
Environmental Health inspector

djames@fvhd.org

x 323

Kirsten Carew, MPH
Epidemiologist

kcarew@fvhd.org

x 314

Sam Carter
Office Manager

scarter@fvhd.org

x 301

Stephanie Johnson, MT (ASCP), MPH
Senior Community Health Program Associate

sjohnson@fvhd.org

x 310

Mary Creaser, R.S
Registered Sanitarian

mcreaser@fvhd.org

x 305

Anna Larson, MPH
Community Health Associate

alarson@fvhd.org

x 315