Our Vision

Exceptional health and well-being for all people who work, live, learn, and play in the Farmington Valley.

Our Mission

The Farmington Valley Health District strives to

PREVENT disease outbreaks and conditions that give rise to poor health,
PROMOTE health programs and policies that support good health, and
PROTECT members of our community from health threats – both the everyday and the exceptional.

Our Values

Community Engagement & Support
Data-Driven
Equal Access to Resources
Health Equity
Partnership
Quality of Care

Who We Are

Welcome to the Farmington Valley Health District (FVHD) site! Whether you are searching for information on how to protect yourself from the flu, proper septic system maintenance or the latest health alerts on food recalls, the FVHD is here for you. We hope you find the site easy to navigate and encourage questions, comments and suggestions to be submitted on our Contact Page.

FVHD serves the towns of Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, East Granby, Farmington, Granby, Hartland, New Hartford and Simsbury. From restaurant inspections, septic system approvals, disease outbreak investigations to health education, we work hard to create a healthy and safe community for the approximate 110,000 residents of the Farmington Valley.

Our community partnerships are key to the success of your health district. By working with residents, town officials, the Connecticut Department of Public Health, schools, and local agencies and organizations, FVHD is able to meet the needs of the community. 

Our Staff

The Farmington Valley Health District has a professional and experienced staff dedicated to promoting optimal health and securing a healthy environment.

You can reach our staff at (860) 352 – 2333

Jennifer C. Kertanis, MPH
Director of Health

jkertanis@fvhd.org

x 303

Dianne Harding, RS
Chief Sanitarian

dharding@fvhd.org

x 309

Patricia Gigliotti, RS
Environmental Health Coordinator

pgigliotti@fvhd.org

x 325

Kristin Kula, RS
Registered Sanitarian

kkula@fvhd.org

x 308

Jason Brown, RS
Food Program Coordinator

jbrown@fvhd.org

x 304

Kristin Olsson, RS
Registered Sanitarian

kolsson@fvhd.org
x305

Deidra James, BS
Environmental Health inspector

djames@fvhd.org

x 323

Miranda Arnold, BS
Environmental Health inspector

marnold@fvhd.org

x 306

Amanda Hubbard, MSN, RN
Public Health Nurse

ahubbard@fvhd.org

x 320

Stephanie Johnson, MT (ASCP), MPH
Senior Community Health Program Associate

sjohnson@fvhd.org

x 310

Justine Ginsberg, BSN, RN
Community Health Coordinator

jginsberg@fvhd.org

x 312

Kirsten Carew, MPH
Epidemiologist

kcarew@fvhd.org

x 314

Amy Beaulieu, PsyD
Outreach Coordinator

abeaulieu@fvhd.org

x 324

Anna Larson, MPH
Community Health Program Associate

alarson@fvhd.org

x 315

Olivia Morris, BS
Community Health Program Associate

omorris@fvhd.org

x 319

Melissa Marquis, RN, MS
Public Health Emergency Preparedness Specialist

mmarquis@fvhd.org

x 302

Sam Carter
Office Manager

scarter@fvhd.org

x 301